There are three offices in the church that make up the church council. Men are elected by the congregation to fulfill the offices of Elder and Deacon. The Minister is trained in a Reformed Theological College and is called by the congregation to serve.

The Minister

The Minister preaches the word and administers the Lord’s Supper and Holy Baptism during the worship service. He is also responsible for teaching the youth and visiting the elderly or others who are in need.


Elders ensure the preaching of the gospel is pure and the sacraments are administered properly. They are responsible for promoting the spiritual well-being of the members and have been given authority over the congregation. The Minister and the Elders make up the consistory of the congregation.


Deacons look after those who are sick, lonely or have financial needs. They collect funds from the congregation and distribute them to needy members and other kingdom causes. They encourage communion of saints through volunteerism and charity.  The deacons also oversee the work of the Helping Hands committee.

The Government of the Church

We believe that not only the faith of the church, but also the government of the church must be regulated by Holy Scripture. As such we believe that the Bible teaches the following principles: the autonomy of the local church; the cooperation and commitment of local churches when it comes to certain common causes and needs; the recognition of the biblical offices of minister, elder, and deacon; the government of the local church has been given to the pastor and the elders; the need for church discipline.

In order to implement these principles in a practical way, we have adopted what is called a Church Order (Constitution). It contains 76 Articles which are divided into four sections dealing with: the offices in the church, the assemblies of the church (consistory, classis, regional synod, general synod), the liturgy of the church (worship services, sacraments, ceremonies), and the discipline of the church.